Fáilte go hÁrainn
Official Guide to the Aran Islands

St Patrick’s Cathedral

Saint Patrick’s Cathedral in Dublin, also known as The National Cathedral and Collegiate Church of Saint Patrick, Dublin, or in the Irish language as Árd Eaglais Naomh Pádraig, founded in 1191, is the larger of Dublin’s two Church of Ireland cathedrals, and the largest church in Ireland, with a 43-metre (140 feet) spire. The other cathedral, Christ Church, is the diocesan cathedral of the diocese of Dublin and Glendalough.

Unusually, it is not the seat of a bishop today, as the Archbishop of Dublin has his seat in Christ Church Cathedral. Since 1870, the Church has designated St Patrick’s as the National Cathedral for the whole island, drawing chapter members from each of the twelve dioceses of the Church of Ireland. The Dean is the ordinary for the cathedral; this office has existed since 1219. The most famous office holder is Jonathan Swift.